the THRILL of the JOURNEY…


So… are you excited about today?? Are you happy, as presumptuous as that sounds, at this moment?? Do we consciously work everyday to be happy?? Why do I ask??

Let me tell you a secret. Most of us have no idea that we should work everyday to be happy. That it is NOT being selfish to want to be happy. Or that it is something in our exclusive control. Or that the taking control of your life with the primary purpose of making ourselves happy is what will influence our every thought, every action and consequence; our relationships with others and our careers.

I remember back in college, a spirited discussion that ensued in my English Literature class,  about how Happiness is a state of mind that one can know only, when one is sad. I protested it then, and with a decade under my belt since then, protest it more vociferously now.

Do you believe in karma? (that’s the concept that refers to the cycle of cause and effect) I’m Indian. And Hindu. For the uninitiated, it means that growing up, I was taught morals, codes of behavior, actions and its consequences via the sacred texts, mythological tales, mores and norms passed down from mother-to-daughter for generations. Today, I’m an agnostic.

But I digress. What is the relationship between being happy and karma you ask?? If i were to make a generalization (and I do not make them often as a rule…), lot of people I have come across use rebirth and karma as an excuse to the effect, “jo hona hain, hoga”, (what has to happen will happen). Am I refuting this?? NO. But I implore us to act in the living present. Yes. Sometimes situations are out of our control. Yet, is it not possible for us to act to achieve happiness??

In the movie Sound of Music, Julie Andrews as Maria sang “raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens, ….brown paper packages wrapped up in string, these are a few of my favourite things….crisp apple streudels, doorbells and sleigh bells and schnitzel with noodles, wild geese that fly with the moon on their wings, these are a few of my favourite things.’ (Love this song?? Have a look here).

Do you have your list of favourite things?? Things that make you smile. Art (music, drama, art or beauty) that has caught your throat with wonderment. Top 5 list of comfort foods. People who inspire you. Actions that give you peace. Interests that give you a glow of accomplishment.  A career that alternately fulfills you and terrifies you. A person who loves you. People who you love. A goal that gives you purpose.  A dream that you’re working to realize.

YOU DO!!! I definitely DO.

This blog is my space for my favourite things, my varied interests and how I try to be happy… everyday.

I start everyday with the belief that today’s going to be a great day… the one shot I get at today… and I’m going to make the most of it. The thrill IS in the journey… reaching my goals are great… but the process is what makes it worthwhile.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

